Greater Toronto Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.18 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 8

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 7:01:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The only complaint I have about the movie is that if you're not familiar with the start of WWII, or know how the Germans were able to cut off the Allied forces, then you will have no idea what's going on in the movie. The forces retreated to Dunkirk, were surrounded by advancing German forces, and cut off by the sea. This is a great movie if you take 10 minutes to review youtube videos on the subject before going. Harry Styles role could have been performed by a turnip.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 6:17:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The story was great but the movie was phony. At least a half dozen last second life saving moments. The background music was terrible. Just listen to it and you will surely agree. This is the worst musical score that I have evr heard. I expected so much more from this movie. Save your money stay home. I even hung around to see if there were any redeaming bloopers to see. There were none.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 5:28:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    To all the people that didn't understand and to the one guy that fell asleep. If your old enough to know a veteran from WWII ask him or her if they didn't understand war or were bored ,fell asleep on a beach or field in France under fire. If you don't understand, stay at home and hide under your bed when the next war starts.. Or call in a Super Hero.

  • 3

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 1:14:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Did not depict hundreds of boats to rescue..should have had more personal real stories of rescuers to stranded British and French troops!

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 11:03:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 9:15:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the best films of the year-definitely Oscar material. The amazing part is that there was little CGI in play. The sinking of the vessels was well done plus Hans Zimmer's score was riveting.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 8:53:38 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This seems to be half documentary/half movie. Not much acting. The first 45 minutes there is little talking at all. Just enough so you know what's going on. Some moments of bravery but you really need to be a history or military buff to enjoy this movie.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 7:23:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Love watching historical movies, especially war movies. This movie was a real let down for me. It had some cool bomb scenes, spitfire scenes, ship sinking scenes, and the movies sound was good. BUT it was all layed out in boring mis aligned plot with poor character development. Probably 80% of the movies footage is nothing but looking at British peoples faces looking at other British people and not saying more than one sentence.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 3:59:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Meh !! 4 plots that start from different timelines and progress at different pace from each other, in order to get to the same point in time when the plots converge. Dialogue was scarce, acting - ok - The movie failed to capture the magnitude and scope of the issue. Even numerous beautiful panoramic shots still failed to convey the size of the near tragedy. I found myself bored and underwhelmed by the effort. I found myself better entertained by the 2 war veterans sitting in front of me getting pissed off by the far too many pre-movie commercials and the 3 teenage girls who wouldn't stop giggling.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 3:42:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is a review and a rant. I would give this movie 4 and 1/2 stars The story was told from several perspectives and does not get romantic with one story --pearl harbour with Ben Affleck this tells the story of Dunkurk the pain and heroics. I read reviews where they said there was not enough action and I say go back to the FAST AND THE FURIOUS or THE AVENGERS... this was real.. it happened, people died this is no romance and if you need romance in a war movie there is something wrong. If you did not understand what it was about then google history. The movie has enough that you understand the human character good and brave and some cowardly. I ,for one, did not miss the romance from a movie about historic event in a war...The movie is not for those who feel romance is critical in a movie or those too immature to understand that movies about life are not Fast and furious special effects(unrealistic).. and I truly believe you must understand what kind of movie you are walking into before you buy a ticket....and be knowledgeable-- do not see TITANIC if you did not know lots of people died...