Greater Toronto Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.18 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 31, 2017 3:28:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Short on history. Long on noise. Not for someone who enjoys good dialogue.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 31, 2017 3:27:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Xcellent..!

  • 5

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 31, 2017 12:42:12 PM | (age group: 50 or over.) | F

    I am very disappointed with this movie. I didn't feel any connection with the main characters. The movie focused more on the rescue from Dunkirk and some of the air bombings but really didn't get into the nitty gritty of what these servicemen went through. I should know my dad was one of them.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 31, 2017 12:20:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautifully and expertly made film with little if any computer generated effects. A strong blend of the epic event and characters who create a strong sense of the horrors and heroism of the Dunkirk evacuation. It's nonstop.

  • 5

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 31, 2017 12:08:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie did not depict the true story of over 700 civilian boats went across the channel to save the soldiers who were being attacked by the Germans, another fact not disclosed. It was a wonderful moment in history to know that the British civilians picked up the soldiers. A very moving real experience in history.

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 31, 2017 11:51:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very slow and you had to pay attention

  • 3

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 30, 2017 10:02:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A missed opportunity. Can't begin to express how disappointing I found this film. an epic story left one feeling nothing at the end. No emotion. No dialogue. confusing chronology. I was so looking forward to this film. Underwhelmed and disappointed.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 30, 2017 6:32:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not sure why it fared so well . audio was terrible couldn't understand what most actors were saying . Actors had no powerful performances Story was not explicable . The beach was too clean for a war depiction and the soldiers perfectly lined up single file . . VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING . What was the director thinking .?? Don't waste your money . Absolutely no comparison to a well made well depicted war movie like Saving Private Ryan .

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 30, 2017 5:33:11 PM | (age group: 50 or over.) | M

    I have studied WW2 for 40 years, I have read many books, watched many movies & documentaries. #1 This is just a BAD movie in many ways! #2 The actual Facts on Dunkirk are far more interesting & exciting than what the movie shows! #3 As I was walking out of the movie it was clear that all the people wear disappointed!

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 30, 2017 3:43:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A cinematic masterpiece the rosebud of our time