Greater Toronto Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.16 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 9:02:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I do not know how any one can say this was a good movie it was nothing but killing no story line , when they did talk which was very limited, you could not understand what they were saying clearly , I feel My husband and I wasted 2 hours of our day ,

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 8:18:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Visceral and riveting! The music, often staccato and pulsating in rhythm, but perfect for displaying the urgency and intensity of what was happening on the screen. Not your typical war movie and I suspect there will be some who will not appreciate this film. But to me, a masterpiece. RAN

  • Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 6:35:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is magnificent , it is exactly the way it was , with no embellishment . It brought me to tears. My father was there.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 4:53:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Had high expectations of this movie ak: Saving Private Ryan. I felt this movie was poorly directed as the story was not told properly from the lack of dialogue. The background music was also very over powering. Lots of Spitfire dog fights in the air where you couldn't tell the British from the Germans. The movie was put together as if all of us should have known the history of Dunkirk which most of us did not. Maybe, save your money and watch Saving Private Ryan again!

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 4:30:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    People who don't like this movie are the same ones who like spider man

  • 3

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 2:25:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very slow. Plot was confusing. Didn't explain about how British were trapped at Dunkirk and didn't focus on all the British that came to help in their small boats. The story of the Dunkirk evacuation was poorly told by this movie. Terrible screen play.

  • 8

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 10:34:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    total action, important thing is hopefully Canadians will wake up and realize what our troops and allies went through past and present to save our FREEDOM so don't let anyone take it away,

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 11:47:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    good movie as Christopher Nolan films are but with this one u don't get the feel of the charters and who they are, so u don't get emotionally involved and that for me it miss the mark, but anything else was good but it not Nolan best film that for sure, but don't mine me go see it for yourself

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 11:35:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Outstanding, certainly will get some Oscar nominations. The cinematography is probably the best I've ever seen in a war movie, the shots of spitfires and battleships are simply awesome. That being said, it's probably not for everyone. There are no female characters at all, there is no love story or sub plot, and not much in terms of character back story or development. There isn't much dialogue at all, in fact. The plot might be difficult for some to follow as its not linear, and things are happening during different days. But it will be a classic. As others pointed out, the feelings of hopelessness and impending doom reminded me a lot of a Kubrick film.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 10:35:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A Great War film! A movie you need to watch in theatres to experience the sound and action for the film