Greater Toronto Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.21 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, August 6, 2017 10:41:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I don't get it what's so special about Dunkirk

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 8:29:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the best movies I have seen all year. It should clean up at the Oscars for 2017.

  • 8

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 6:55:24 PM | (age group: 50 or over.) | M

    I went to see Dunkirk today in North bay. The movie is quite good i would say, and it is pretty well none stop action from beginning to end. The one thing I was very disappointed in, was the language, or lack there of. When speaking to veterans, and asking about things they went thru, they had little problems being very descriptive about the enemy, whether it was the Japanese, Germans or Italians. However 'Dunkirk' is done as a politically correct movie, and not one word of profanity is said, not even a gasp or shaking of fist, at the German troops or air force. I cannot imagine after being machine gunned, and watching my fellow soldiers drop dead in piles, that some one some where on t

  • 7

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 6:34:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Dunkirk is a legendary story & I appreciated the way the movie was made to respect it. There were no news cameras there to record it, only the stories of the people who were there. It was the rescue of an army, made by the people of England in small boats across the English Channel. The English are truly amazing, aren't they? When something bad happens they refuse to show fear, they do what needs to be done. Those who criticize the film for jumping around should realize it is a true story of what was done by ordinary people with tremendous courage to save their soldiers. They never gave up, and I doubt they ever will.

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 12:44:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Acting is good as well as the cinematography but I felt the 1958 Dunkirk showed a much better scope of what happen, including the beach scene which grasped what real film & photos took on those horrible days of retreating to Britain!

  • 5

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 12:24:46 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Perhaps i'm a bit foggy, but i would have liked to have known . that this was the EVACUATION" RE Dunkirk. Movie a bit stung out--I took a couple of breaks and upon return found I had not missed anything. not a terrible movie but needs a bit more meat on the bone.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 11:12:23 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing cinematography but very loud and stressful to watch. I have heard the movie is accurate historically but, even with a History education, the story and strategy is hard to follow.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 1:26:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A very neat and tidy, let's tone-down-the-violence-of-war movie from Christopher Nolan. Here's a director who likes to cut from one of his land-sea-air story lines to another, but the cuts are too quick and you easily lose perspective. At times, the cuts are to scenes unrelated to one of his 3 themes, and you wonder...okay, where are we now? What boat/ship are we on? That's frustrating. Excellent cinematography, sadly offset by horribly grating soundtrack from Hans Zimmer. Nolan didn't want to show any Germans, and he doesn't, thinking that perspective from the British soldier's point of view would be compromised...instead, it becomes muddled, even lost. As a war movie, not a classic as the critics would have you believe, certainly not the same caliber as say Saving Private Ryan. I was really anticipating much better, found myself leaving disappointed. This one won't stand the test of time.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 4, 2017 9:57:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I thought the film was very well done and showed the true spirit of man kind

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 4, 2017 9:24:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    waste of time