Greater Toronto Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.18 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 30, 2017 1:54:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A disappointment given the dramatic events the film dealt with. Nolan is a gifted director but he let his love of the craft interfere with the telling of the story by playing with the timeline - one of his favorite techniques - when he should have approached the story for what it is, the recalling of an important historical event.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 30, 2017 11:32:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie was confusing at the beginning but as it started to progress into the events, I began to understand that the movie wasn't about one person or, ship or plane or town ... It was a story about who was involved at Dunkirk and how they got the men back home. Stories of the rescued and the killed. The good decisions some made and the bad ones. Lots of action and I thoroughly enjoyed the movie though my husband ... I rated it a five.

  • 3

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 29, 2017 10:14:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Uneven, inconsistent story content, tension and sense of desperation. Little historical or personal story development. At times, the structure of scenes within in the movie appeared and felt low-budget; per the absolutely underwhelming, if not almost laughable scene of the appearance of the supposed civilian evacuation flotilla along the Dunkirk shoreline. Vapid story development. Sadly, disappointing.

  • 3

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 29, 2017 8:22:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Confusing. Too many things were not explained.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 29, 2017 2:24:57 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Magnificent movie, Wonderfully directed and a best movie of the year. Lots of tense drama. Good acting too. Should win Academy Award.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 29, 2017 8:21:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Didn't like Spider-Man either. I respect reviews from those who say it was accurate and did not need the Hollywood touch, so maybe the movie was best suited for the history channel. No dialogue left the movie confusing. It won't stay long. A flop!!!

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 29, 2017 2:52:43 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Yeah real hard to follow lol

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Friday, July 28, 2017 8:05:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It had hardly a story and harder to follow.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Friday, July 28, 2017 4:41:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    When I watch a war movie I want lots of. Dialogue. Said nobody ever. Ear drums really grandpa?

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Friday, July 28, 2017 12:59:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Was disappointed - very little dialogue. Terrible music played too loudly - hurt the eardrums.