Greater Toronto Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.68 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:34:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    theprionJan 10, 2018 I knew something was wrong when I reached for my watch and thought "this is taking too long". Never before I felt this way while watching an entry of my favorite movie saga ever. Up to that point I was mildly entertained - lots of eye-candy - but the over-the-top humor and a growing length that for some reason wasn't paying off were already red flags. When the credits rolled I was confused out of my mind. Since then I don't go a day without thinking how bad the whole experience was, and I just had to come over and join the almost three-thousand voters' consensus. One could point three main reasons why The Last Jedi is atrocious: 1) It's technically an awful movie: bad writing, bad pacing, bad acting, bad dialogue, bad decisions, gaping plot holes, no character development, no real journey, no accomplishments, disjointed plot; 2) It actually strives to spend the maximum screentime as possible delivering political undertones that have nothing to do with it's universe at all; and 3) shamelessly disrespects and disregards the saga's lore, world-building and legendary characters. I never thought it would come to this, since The Force Awakens was a serviceable nostalgia ride and Disney usually manages to keep the quality standards in their projects. But it's not just about nostalgia, as most of the critics are bashing the disheartened fans. The changes they defend about The Last Jedi are not thoughtful steps forwards that build on the saga's foundation. They're market-calculated decisions designed to appeal a smartphone-dumbed and twitter-minded younger audience, coupled with really shallow and trendy moviemaking. And to that merit, Episode VIII accomplishes it infamously. Also, that is where The Last Jedi does feel like closure, at least to me. I'm disgusted enough to have paid a cinema ticket to watch it, and I'll not indulge this Coca-Cola-ish brand anymore.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:32:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    World record breaking plot holes. This movie is so full of scenes which destroy the Star Wars films. Weaponized light speed? Just attach a lightspeed engine to a bag of bricks and shoot it at the Death Star in Ep4! Igniting lightsabers at a distance? Then why didn't Darth Vader just turn off Luke's saber? Oh wait, Luke uses the Force. Ok then why didn't Obi-Wan turn off Grevious's sabers? Ghost Yoda can shoot lightning? Then why didn't he just do that on the salt planet, or electrocute Snoke, or electrocute Kyle Ren? - Daisy Rey is invincible. Zero training, yet she's on God-mode. Ok. - Timeline: this movie picks up right after TFA. So, Rey went from a non-Force using nobody on Jakku to defeating three red guards at once (while poor male Kylo could defeat only one) in what, two weeks?! I will not see any Ep9 in theaters. I took my family to Ep8, so this is a loss of 4 tickets for Ep9. And I stopped three of my friends from seeing Ep8. So, yes, an individual can have an effect. I myself am holding back nearly $200 of revenue by not going to see the rest of these movies. Eat it, Kathleen Kennedy and your superstar team of ALL FEMALE Star Wars writers.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:32:54 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    - Forced social commentary. Every male character is full of "toxic masculinity" and therefore must be broken down into a heap of crap, whereas every woman is utterly perfect and infallible. Hint: the entire story team behind Disney's Star Wars is a group of women who specifically forbids men from joining the story team. How is this equality? Leia and Amidala were strong characters who happened to be women. Their gender was almost immaterial. That was all Lucas's doing. In Disney's Star Wars, being female is a prerequisite to being a hero, while being male is a prereq to being an incompetent toxic-masculinity patriarchal devil. Don't even get me started on the ham-fisted "capitalism is evil" casino planet nonsense. Capitalism is evil? Then how about Disney starts charging $0 admission to their stupid theme parks!

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:32:50 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie gets a 1 strictly due to the high-quality visuals. But I'd take lower-quality visual effects if it came with a better story than this pile of garbage. I created an account specifically to review this terrible movie. I'm not a bot, nor am I a Crimean spy. I'm also not a Disney employee (hint hint). I'm a very disappointed moviegoer. Here are the major problems with TLJ: - "Humor". It just wasn't funny. No one in the theater laughed at the parts which were clearly supposed to be funny. It was cringeworthy. This was a blatant attempt to copy Marvel films, and it failed miserably. - Trashing the legacy characters. Are the filmmakers so full of themselves that they think they can change how the audience feels about characters they've adored for 30 years? Luke is a murderous coward. Leia is Superwoman. Chewie is a vegan. Come on! You've been gifted one of the single greatest cinematic characters EVER in Luke Skywalker. Just show him being wise, with that signature Luke optimism, and let him kick butt with his lightsaber. But no, Luke is a man, which brings me to the next point...

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:31:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Worst Star Wars film ever. Unbelievable scenes "Leia Superman" with the lacking of originality: (EX: WW2 inspired bombers action, Medieval weapons with an energy setting on it). It gets worse. The wisdom and eternal fight of good and bad is…

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:30:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    the second act is the plot of Battlestar Galactica 1978, someone old enough to remember? This is not an iconoclastic play some trying to sale. Bad script, bad directing,bad continuity, the actors give his best but had a traitor behind the camera.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:28:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Star Wars was about the eternal fight of light versus dark and finding the balance between the two. The Last Jedi is grey, bleak, and full of politically correct social propaganda being shoved down your throat in every other scene. Honestly this movie is subversive, divisive, and extremely hypocritical. Entertainment should be entertainment, don’t politicize our escape that actually bonds everyone no matter their age, gender, ethnicity, sexuality, or religion. This movie intentionally tries to retroactively destroy everything we loved about the Star Wars movies that came before it.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:28:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    star wars ruined forever. nothing that has happened before matters. Rian J. obviously wanted to tear everything built before him down.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:27:06 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It breaks my heart to write this but this movie is truly soulless and all around awful. Absolutely poorly written and conceived. The characters are flat, weak, one-dimensional, and out-of-character. The structure is massively flawed and the plot is riddled with holes. I’ve seen every Star Wars movie in theater at least four times on top of countless viewings at home. I will never watch The Last Jedi again. It is hands down the worst in the franchise. I’m going to watch Attack of the Clones to cleanse my pallet… The filmmakers main goal across the board was to destroy and manipulate our expectations by breaking rules set in the Star Wars universe and by debunking every possible fan theory based on questions set up in The Force Awakens. If you want to play with audiences expectations do it in a standalone genre movie by playing with its genre conventions, not in an established canon. They pulled this “Tricked you / surprise card” so many times it was repulsive. Maybe try using two or three of your brilliant mind blowing disrespectful spins on fan expectations. I’ve never had such polarizing different opinions with critics as I do with this movie. I spent countless hours reading fan reviews and watching youtube reviews (positive and negative) and the problems that everyone has are consistent across the board. I’m having a hard time understanding why this would be the best critically reviewed Star Wars movie when I feel this is the worst produced… The filmmakers were more concerned with burning the past to build the future that they want. They don't care what the characters or story deserve and are trying to kill the Star Wars mythology. The original trilogy’s themes were hope, faith, loyalty, family and redemption. The Last Jedi dismantles that and it’s theme is “Let the past die, kill it if you have to.” and to disrespect everything that made Star Wars a universally beloved saga.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:21:40 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is an absolute slap in the face to real Star Wars fans. The prequels now look great in comparison. RIP Star Wars.