Greater Toronto Movies

Blade Runner 2049

Blade Runner 2049

Blade Runner 2049

Score: 7 / 10

Release Date: October 6, 2017
Director: Denis Villeneuve
Producer: Andrew A. Kosove, Broderick Johnson, Bud Yorkin, Cynthia Yorkin
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Ryan Gosling, Harrison Ford, Ana de Armas, Sylvia Hoeks, Robin Wright, Mackenzie Davis, Carla Juri, Lennie James, Dave Bautista, Jared Leto, Barkhad Abdi
Rating: 14A
Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
Running Time: 163 minutes

Write a Review


Blade Runner 2049 movie reviews

  • 10

    Blade Runner 2049

    Thursday, October 12, 2017 6:20:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is an exceptional movie! The story and the acting are so well done! It had my interest from start to finish.

  • 9

    Blade Runner 2049

    Thursday, October 12, 2017 6:01:14 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie was interesting. Harrison Ford was not too much in the movie but was fine.

  • 9

    Blade Runner 2049

    Thursday, October 12, 2017 5:59:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Long but amazing.

  • 10

    Blade Runner 2049

    Thursday, October 12, 2017 5:56:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing movie. Beautiful backgrounds. Plot was interesting.

  • 4

    Blade Runner 2049

    Thursday, October 12, 2017 5:39:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Waste of tie, save your money. Boring, boring, boring....n

  • 4

    Blade Runner 2049

    Thursday, October 12, 2017 5:38:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Too long.....boring, confusing, too many long periods without dialogue to explain anything. I didn't like the first one and this is not much better, if you can handle boring it's for you. Oh and Harrison Ford, if you are a fan, which I am, was only in the last 15 minutes.

  • 8

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 9:55:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Although not Blade Runner 1982 style...as 2049 is far longer, slower and character driven, especially Gosling's character K...this one has its sensual sci-fi highlights. Especially during the last hour of the movie where it does become intense and we get to find out how the loose ends of the original come together at last. It could be cut down to two hours I think as some scenes took forever to get to the point and move on. However, it is visually intriguing and very atmospheric...just don't expect lots of action or superfluous special effects...but do expect to be entertained and at times, enthralled.

  • 10

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 5:08:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    An artistic masterpiece, a feast for the senses both visual and audio. The sets were top notch, the 'Peugeot' flying cop cars looked very functional and realistic. The acting was amazing, stellar performances turned in by nearly every main character, especially Gosling, Ford and Leto. My only criticisms, a VERY long movie, you begin to feel it about 2/3 through. The incredible immersiveness helps this, see it on IMAX! And the main villian, is nowhere near as good as the original baddie Replicant, Rutger Hauer, but those are pretty tall synthetic boots to fill!

  • 3

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 5:04:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I saw the first one when it first came out and I was awestruck, so I was excited about the new film. Overall, I found it long, confusing and average. Too many unanswered questions and there are plot issues. What worked in the first film was the idea of what is human. This theme is dominant in the second film but the theme is dished out heavy handedly. Gosling, to me wasn't the right fit and Ford was only so-so. The female antagonist was nasty and the male God character was silly and overblown. Too many unanswered questions. What were those buzzy things around the God guy? Why the bees? Where is Dekkard anyways and how was he able to live? What happened to the revolution? That's enough queries from me. Visually is was good but not as good as the first.

  • 9

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 2:14:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    They need to do sequel from this movie.