Greater Toronto Movies

Call Me by Your Name

Call Me by Your Name

Call Me by Your Name

Score: 6.18 / 10

Director: Luca Guadagnino
Producer: Emilie Georges, Howard Rosenman, James Ivory, Luca Guadagnino, Marco Morabito, Peter Spears, Rodrigo Teixeira
Studio: Mongrel Media
Starring: Armie Hammer, Timothée Chalamet, Michael Stuhlbarg, Amira Casar, Esther Garrel, Victoire du Bois
Rating: 14A
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 132 minutes

Write a Review


Call Me by Your Name movie reviews

  • 10

    Call Me by Your Name

    Thursday, February 15, 2018 11:23:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A lovely touching story. Very sad. I loved the music.

  • 9

    Call Me by Your Name

    Thursday, February 15, 2018 10:59:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I am stunned by the last review, I doubt if they watch the film instead Judging it,. I guess their minds is fixated only on one thing. And after the 3rd time watching it I can honestly conclude that the movie doesn't insult your intelligence. No one dies. No one condescends. No one gets beat up for being gay. No disapproving parents. Just an unfolding of human connection and nuanced, great acting performances. PLUS beautiful songs! = Best Picture nominee at the Oscar Academy. Elio and Oliver have replied that this was a beautiful, consensual love and most of the criticism is from people that have not seen the film. Sad that they can influence others without ever seeing it for themselves. ts quite clear it is consensual! Elio pursued Oliver, and indeed Oliver made sure Elio was secure enough to take it to the next level. This is our beautiful, sad, love story, and I for one am not going to let narrow minded bigots take it from me! That was the hardest and most painful moment in my life. So when I watched this scene seeing Elio crying, I was brought back to that fated day again. No other film affects me the way CMBYN have. Everyone have their own painful heartbrak and love story. Which is why this movie is the best because it based on simple basic human thing called love. This movie deserve a lifetime Oscar.! And Yes, I watched this film 3 times and when this song started .. i cried. So beautiful. so real, i lived in it. Call Me by Your Name is about consensual desire, discovery and a completely un-power-related relationship. 5 stars ! Highly Recommended !

  • 1

    Call Me by Your Name

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 1:43:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    My husband and I love foreign films, and off the beaten path gems, but this movie has it's head screwed on entirely backwards. Why would anyone celebrate a movie about a predator and his grooming of a young man? Sick. We left, and decided to go to a bookstore instead.

  • 2

    Call Me by Your Name

    Tuesday, February 13, 2018 7:03:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not for the faint of heart, or those looking for a feel good movie. It's a winner for certain people, but for most it leaves you queasy.

  • 2

    Call Me by Your Name

    Sunday, February 11, 2018 4:37:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Ick.

  • 2

    Call Me by Your Name

    Sunday, February 11, 2018 10:20:24 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is a movie that could have been wonderful and it is set in a beautiful Italian country villa. The character of Oliver is flat, dull, unbelievable. The young lover is handsome, and well played but the story is dull, and the audience is not invested. Like Moonlight, just because it is a coming of age story involving homosexuality, does not make it a good movie. Big disappointment.

  • 10

    Call Me by Your Name

    Saturday, February 10, 2018 7:31:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is a beautiful movie talks about first love. All the actors are amazing and you feel like you are part of the movie. Monologue at the end of the movie will bring you tears because you want all your parents to be like that. It was robbed at Golden Globes and I hope wins the Oscars! Truly deserving. A must watch in theatres!! I have seen it twice and itching to watch again.

  • 9

    Call Me by Your Name

    Saturday, February 10, 2018 9:00:03 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautiful movie -- incredible acting, cinematography, direction, soundtrack. The "reviewers" on this site who gave it one star and immediately used "pedohile" and/or "predator" haven't actually watched it (I was especially amused by the ones who couldn't spell the words correctly). The characters are 17 years old and 24 years old (you can tell which "reviewers" haven't seen it by what ages they assign the characters). Speaking from experience, a 24-year old grad student (I teach them) isn't much more mature than a 17 year old high school student. They have purposefully postponed adulthood and the responsibilities that come with it. I wouldn't expect the one-star reviewers to understand this since they clearly never attended college. This is a smart movie produced for smart people. Period.

  • 10

    Call Me by Your Name

    Thursday, February 8, 2018 8:53:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I swathe movie 3 times and thought it was one of the best movies I have seen since Brokeback Mountain. People are commenting on here about the age difference 17 and 30. It was in Italy and age of consent is 14 not that I think 14 is mature enough but my 1st relationship I was 17 and the guy was 26.in this movie not predator or or pedophile because the 17 year old was after the 30 year old and started the advances. would this have been a problem if a 17 year old girl went with a 30 year old guy?I look at it as a love story between two mature people in Italy. Great acting and great movie. People are so judgemental.

  • 9

    Call Me by Your Name

    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 9:39:38 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved it! Loved the story above all! Loved Timothées acting!