Greater Toronto Movies

Roman J. Israel, Esq.

Roman J. Israel, Esq.

Roman J. Israel, Esq.

Score: 6.31 / 10

Director: Dan Gilroy
Producer: Denzel Washington, Jennifer Fox, Todd Black
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Denzel Washington, Colin Farrell, Carmen Ejogo
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 129 minutes

Write a Review


Roman J. Israel, Esq. movie reviews

  • 3

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Wednesday, December 13, 2017 12:46:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was boring right from the get go, I left 3/4 through the movie, hoping it would get better but it didn't . Two stars is being generous .

  • 3

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Tuesday, December 5, 2017 9:57:24 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Washington and Farrell are great, that's it!

  • 1

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Friday, December 1, 2017 10:07:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This was a terrible movie, no plot ,no stortline And Denzel Washington acted badly,ireally don't see all those 5 stars.When you go to see a movie starring Denzel you expect to see a good movie .That was not the case here.

  • 8

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Sunday, November 26, 2017 5:10:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Denzel excellent and divers actor .We enjoyed the movie from start to end. Recommended highly

  • 9

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Sunday, November 26, 2017 3:14:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    While the plot was not the best, the characters were great!

  • 10

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Sunday, November 26, 2017 3:12:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Movie was great. They had Denzel looking cray but I enjoyed it. Great cast and terrific acting.

  • 7

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Saturday, November 25, 2017 10:28:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Cont. from below: I have no regret paying to see the movie in the theater. What I am saying is this: If Israel is a savant, then stay on this message throughout the movie. If Israel is a complicated or conflicted person, let us see this. If Israel is merely awkward, then stay on this message throughout the movie. If Israel was awkward until experiencing the death of a close colleague plus experiencing the changes at the law firm all of which caused Israel to become bitter (an argument for why he did what he did), then nurture this message throughout the movie. I did not feel ebb and flow watching this movie.

  • 8

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Saturday, November 25, 2017 2:39:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I waited a few days before writing this review. Critique: The movie does not state that Israel (Denzel) is a savant. Reference is made to Israel being a savant. The notion that since "attorney" Israel displays exceptional memory makes him necessarily savant is a fallacy. One of many important measures for anyone pursuing a law degree is willingness to read, the ability to memorize large amounts of information, and to possess excellent analytical skills and abilities. I have known people with high mental acuity: They read the outlines, the case book end of chapter reviews and summaries only, and use their intuition and ability to rule in or out on MCQs tests. They passed law school and became lawyers. Are they savants? No. In the past, lawyers have scored high on IQ tests. Savants generally have scored low on IQ tests "while demonstrating exceptional skills in certain areas." We do not know if Israel scored low on IQ and high on the LSAT. If we did, then we can infer this would be the one area where Israel was exceptional. How would we know since the movie did not add this material to the movie content. The movie plot was not fully developed. And I do not get why Israel did what he did. I did not like the idiosyncrasy the Israel character demonstrated. I thought Denzel was in role in most scenes and off in some. Be a savant But don't be a savant, and awkward, and street smart at the time. My critique goes to the director / producer Not the Actors. Colin Farrell did an amazing job being the stereotypical big firm corporate lawyer with excellent marketing skills (it's all about billable hours) with Colin turning into a more compassionate and reflective attorney by the end of the story. Carmen Ejogo was super amazing as the professional woman (holding her own) who inadvertently starts to fall for the awkward Israel. Ejogo spoke her lines with the right emotion for each scene convincing! The movie is entertaining and I have no regret paying

  • 5

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Saturday, November 25, 2017 2:32:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I have to agree on the lack of plot in this movie .Denzels characters portrayal was great but, the movie keeps building to what you think is going to be some great ending and then .......nothing . Could have been a great movie if it had a better ending IMO.

  • 5

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Saturday, November 25, 2017 12:11:46 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved Danzel's portrayal of his character but the plot wasn't to my liking more intrigue or action was needed.