Greater Toronto Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.18 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 7:52:53 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not sure I liked this film. Found it boring. Was waiting for the action that the soundtrack seemed to suggest was coming, but alas never came. It's visually stunning, Nolan packs it with detail, but it just didn't do it for me.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 3:39:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Missed opportunity. Such a great story very poorly told. The way they jump back and forth through 3 main perspectives makes it annoying to follow and hard to become attached or empathetic to any of the characters. Some great actor but nothing special in the acting. One of the worst attempts of giving one a sense of the magnitude of the material. And the director is usually so good. Missed opportunity.

  • Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 1:13:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    While it was a beautifully shot movie, it felt like a war documentary with no narrative. You never got to know anyone, learn anyone's back story... nothing, I mean I don't think we really got any of the soldiers names.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 11:04:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Seeing the same moments in time from different perspectives was a wonderful technique.The emotional impacts of these events varied with the people who were in them and where they were.Shifting the point of view was brilliant.It really shouldn't have come as a surprise since it was introduced at the beginning of the film.

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 10:15:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Maybe a war buff would like the special effects. I personally thought it was boring. It was more for a history channel movie than the movie theatre.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 10:06:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I have no idea who would rate this 5 stars. Very boring. A real snoozer from beginning to end.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 10:04:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Disliked it very much. No plot. Very hard to understand and follow. Actually fell asleep.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 10:02:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Eztremely boring. Could not tell what eas going on and could not understand them. I dont like movies where you dont get to know the characters so its hard to care about them. Went with my husband and could not wait for it to ne over.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 8:11:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    No fake actors. Stuck to history and most facts

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 7:32:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Brilliant!!!! I 100000000% recommend seeing it!!!!!