Greater Toronto Movies

mother!

mother!

mother!

Score: 3.78 / 10

Release Date: September 15, 2017
Director: Darren Aronofsky
Producer: Ari Handel, Darren Aronofsky, Scott Franklin
Studio: Paramount Pictures
Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Javier Bardem, Ed Harris, Michelle Pfeiffer, Domhnall Gleeson
Rating: 18A
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 121 minutes

Write a Review


mother! movie reviews

  • 4

    mother!

    Saturday, September 16, 2017 9:15:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Tough to decide between a 2 or 3 rating... I was excited about the cast, thinking this must be a good one to have all of these famous actors in the movie. The trailer lures you in, as always. The movie started on a good note - building up suspense with strange characters, a unique storyline and plenty of unanswered questions. Then, all hell breaks loose... it got just too weird and out there for me after that. I should have expected the movie to "turn" as it did, when you consider Black Swan, Noah, etc. - all dark movies with bizarre twists and "look away from the screen" gore. When you consider these movies, Mother! Is from the same genre. It's difficult to recommend this movie. It will surprise and shock you and make you wonder what you just saw.

  • 2

    mother!

    Saturday, September 16, 2017 5:08:43 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Horrible movie. Was dieing for it to end. What a waste of 2 hrs

  • 2

    mother!

    Saturday, September 16, 2017 3:19:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Worst movie ever!! Do not know what it was trying to tell us. We both walked out. I cant believe we stayed past 1/2 way!!

  • 2

    mother!

    Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:35:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Perhaps some blue body paint and a few superheroes could of saved this disaster film, but nothing short would of. So much for her career.

  • 1

    mother!

    Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:33:50 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Went to the manager for a refund. Yeah. It's that bad.

  • 2

    mother!

    Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:32:16 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    My wife was a big fan of Jennifer Lawrence. Was. We both walked out before it was over, asking ourselves, what the heck was that. She lacks something big time, the story, if I figure it out I'll get back to you, and the camera angles were, ??????? I have to go with Rex Reed on this one. He puts it up as possibly theworst movie in a century. It makes Ishtar look like academy award material.

  • 9

    mother!

    Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:01:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A masterful piece of filmmaking

  • 2

    mother!

    Saturday, September 16, 2017 12:15:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    they really need a zero rating for movies such as this - save your money!!

  • 1

    mother!

    Saturday, September 16, 2017 12:14:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    i would give mother a zero if i could. No idea what was going on. No real explanation why people just started showing up at the house or what was going on inside the house later on in the movie. I would not even call it a horror. In the other horror movies like insidious, conjuring even saw there was always an explanation to why things were happening. the only thing i new in the movie was that he was a writer. All i got watching this movie was the you now hit the fan for unknown reasons again. Other than that i was lost. Maybe if you go see it you can make sense of what you see.

  • 2

    mother!

    Friday, September 15, 2017 10:35:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The worst movie I've ever seen. I kept waiting for the plot to reveal itself all through the movie but it never did. Some people actually got up during the movie and left. Don't waste your money.