Greater Toronto Movies

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Score: 7.02 / 10

Director: Joe Wright
Producer: Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce, Tim Bevan
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Gary Oldman, Ben Mendelsohn, Lily James, John Hurt, Kristin Scott Thomas, Stephen Dillane
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 125 minutes

Write a Review


Darkest Hour movie reviews

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Sunday, January 21, 2018 3:42:14 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As a retort about the history teachers' review that Churchill never considered peace talks is incorrect since that pre war fact is still a secret in the countries historical files. What are our children being taught in school these day ?

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Sunday, January 21, 2018 3:24:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The acting in the movie was surpurb. Given the fact there there may have been extension of reality, it provides a premise as to what could have changed history. We need the boldness in our leaders today. Those who rated it with one star should have been there.

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Sunday, January 21, 2018 2:28:07 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best movie I have seen in years!

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Friday, January 19, 2018 11:39:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fantastic! I really enjoyed this movie. History fan.

  • 1

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, January 18, 2018 7:43:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Stay away

  • 1

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, January 18, 2018 7:42:57 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A not so good movie

  • 1

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, January 18, 2018 7:42:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not worth the time let alone the money

  • 2

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, January 18, 2018 7:42:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    As a former history teacher, I have to give it an F. As a historical fiction movie, it's at least 75% fiction. The idea that Churchill wavered and seemed to have considered a treaty with Hitler and that he jotted down the ideas for his greatest speech on a subway trip to Parliament (one which he never took) are ridiculous. Gary Oldman did a great job portraying a bumbling professor! I had to give the movie one star, because I wasn't given to option of going lower.

  • 2

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, January 18, 2018 7:39:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Pretty predictable crappy stuff. I am pretty tired of national hero typical kind of character. Getting to feel pretty much the same about Gary Oldman. Go to a matinee or wait for the rental, but don't pay full price unless you have nothing better to do.

  • 2

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, January 18, 2018 7:36:22 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Could have been so much more with the talented cast. Underdeveloped dialogue and characters. Waste of time and money