Greater Toronto Movies

The Big Sick

The Big Sick

The Big Sick

Score: 6.85 / 10

Release Date: July 14, 2017
Director: Michael Showalter
Producer: Barry Mendel, Judd Apatow
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Kumail Nanjiani, Holly Hunter, Zoe Kazan, Ray Romano, Linda Emond, Anupam Kher, Zenobia Shroff, Adeel Akhtar
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 120 minutes

Write a Review


The Big Sick movie reviews

  • 8

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 3:49:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    In spite of that terrible title (which seems to be designed to drive people away), it's surprisingly good. Unfortunately it introduces several characters who are quite interesting; but, it can't seem to resolve how to deal with them. And it kept stumbling into promising situations that it didn't have the wherewithal to explore further. For instance, I would've liked to know more about all those prospective Pakistani brides who were smart & funny & elegant. And those poor kids slaving away hopelessly with tired & terrible routines in the comedy clubs. And why did the hero absolutely need to have a blonde white woman who was written as being a bitch anyway. I would've liked an explanation.

  • 9

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 3:06:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I'm so very glad I was able to this movie. It is everything promised and more. The actors were well chosen and the chemistry was obvious. I really enjoyed learning something from this. Absolutely a must see.

  • 8

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 1:58:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I found it was really funny. I enjoyed how it emphasizes cultural differences in a funny way and it was not shy to poke fun at issues facing society today. The ending was predictable but cute

  • 9

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 1:18:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Saw this movie with three friends. We all agreed it is a 5 star movie. Good mix of comedy and real life issues. Loved Holly Hunter's comedy club meltdown!!

  • 5

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 12:37:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I enjoyed the movie. I like learning about different customs and traditions. I wish there were more movies like this one. I think what we understand takes the fear of out guessing. Thank you for picking my name.

  • 10

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 12:31:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very funny and heartwarming! These characters were so sweet together. I was pleasantly surprised by this movie! I recommend!

  • 8

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 12:18:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    My friend and I loved this movie. It was touching, funny and heart-warming. A real life love story complicated by cultural impediments and a severe health crisis sensitively portrayed. Highly recommend!

  • 9

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 11:31:38 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Big Sick was a feel good comedy I've been waiting for, for a while. It's hits the mark of a perfect balance between drama, comedy, and romance. This movie is one of a few I'd recommended everyone watch!

  • 7

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 11:24:37 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Funny and endearing!

  • 6

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 9:48:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Big Sick is an unique story that's for sure. It's amazing how little people may know about the traditions/culture of East Indian people.