Greater Toronto Movies

The Glass Castle

The Glass Castle

The Glass Castle

Score: 8.17 / 10

Director: Destin Daniel Cretton
Producer: Gil Netter, Ken Kao
Studio: Entertainment One
Starring: Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, Naomi Watts, Max Greenfield, Ella Anderson, Josh Caras, Shree Crooks, Brigette Lundy-Paine, Charlie Shotwell
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 127 minutes

Write a Review


The Glass Castle movie reviews

  • 8

    The Glass Castle

    Sunday, August 20, 2017 12:30:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Worth seeing. Great acting, great story. It's a drama, not an action movie. Many layers to the cast....and well done. A love/hate relationship between parent/child.

  • 10

    The Glass Castle

    Saturday, August 19, 2017 8:20:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best movie I've seen in years...much better than I expected! Another reviewer said it romanticized neglect - I don't see that at all. The neglect was hard to watch but the movie is so much more than that. Highly recommend.

  • 1

    The Glass Castle

    Saturday, August 19, 2017 7:33:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Horrible neglect and abuse of parents was romanticized.

  • 8

    The Glass Castle

    Friday, August 18, 2017 10:44:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Exceptional acting, especially Woody Harrelson in an emotional story of a dysfunctional family and how the children were effected by an alcoholic but well meaning father and artist mother. I recommend this movie to any true film goer.

  • 6

    The Glass Castle

    Wednesday, August 16, 2017 11:43:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I felt the acting of Woody Harrelson, Naomi Watts, and the young Jeannette's (Ella Anderson and Chandler Head) were awesome. I did not care for the older Jeannette (Brie Larson) at any age. I felt she came across as stiff and I could not bond with her or feel sympathy for her at all. I think it may have been a director's miscall though. Too many long close ups, where she was recalling? thinking?, agonizing? Overall . . . I cannot recommend this movie.

  • 10

    The Glass Castle

    Tuesday, August 15, 2017 5:08:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    best film as in craftmanship and acting that I have seen in eons-- every actor-- is on his mark- moves you, yet does not weigh you down to a miasma , simply brilliant film making and acting.

  • 9

    The Glass Castle

    Monday, August 14, 2017 6:56:48 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Such a well done movie. Actors did an awesome job potraying the actual family.

  • 8

    The Glass Castle

    Sunday, August 13, 2017 10:03:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very well acted. Did read the book. So well done, that I left! Why? Came too close to home, too believable, too stirring. Had to leave...but the movie is good, providing you don't relate to it...like I did.

  • 10

    The Glass Castle

    Sunday, August 13, 2017 12:06:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Glass Castle is clearly a contender for the Oscars as are the performances of Woddy Harrelson, Brie Larson and Naomi Wattts. This film is based on the book and real life experiences of Jeanette Walls who grew up in poverty with an alcoholic father and delusional mother who, along with their 4 children, lived like gypsies in the early sixties and seventies.. This is an outstanding, dramatic film which is directed with perfection by Destin Cretton. Don't miss this one. It is a work of art

  • 2

    The Glass Castle

    Saturday, August 12, 2017 11:05:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I feel like it was not a dramatic movie at all. It was slow moving and boring. I went there thinking I was going for drama and a thriller, not at all. I would have enjoyed the movie next door much more, Kidnap. Was disappointing Husband and wife, won't let me check both genders.