Greater Toronto Movies

Wind River

Wind River

Wind River

Score: 8.05 / 10

Release Date: August 11, 2017
Director: Taylor Sheridan
Producer: Basil Iwanyk, Matthew George, Peter Berg, Wayne Rogers
Studio: VVS Films
Starring: Jeremy Renner, Elizabeth Olsen, Jon Bernthal, Kelsey Asbille, Gil Birmingham, Julia Jones, James Jordan, Norman Lehnert, Martin Sensmeier
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 110 minutes

Write a Review


Wind River movie reviews

  • 10

    Wind River

    Friday, September 1, 2017 1:19:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Yes it is a terrific movie...The guy below me sounds like he is on something...

  • 7

    Wind River

    Friday, September 1, 2017 8:24:36 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    PEOPLE, GO SEE THIS MOVIE! DON'T LISTEN TO THE IMATURE COWARDS THAT HIDE, AND THEN GIVE NEGATIVE REVIEWS, THEIR FOOLS. THEY HAVE NO LIFE, SO THIER BITTER AND NEGATIVE! THIS FILM ISN'T A ''COMEDY''IT IS A DRAMA BASED ON A SAD, BUT TRUE STORY.

  • 2

    Wind River

    Thursday, August 31, 2017 2:50:38 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you're looking for a date movie, skip it. If you're looking for an action movie, skip it. Mystery? Skip. Drama? Skip. If you looking for a movie that wastes two hours of your life and leaves you depressed, then you're in luck. This movie is bad on so many levels, I'm not sure where to even start. The five star reviews are by trolls, pay them no heed. It's about getting the rubes into the seats.

  • 7

    Wind River

    Wednesday, August 30, 2017 4:47:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The sound was very low. !!!

  • 6

    Wind River

    Tuesday, August 29, 2017 5:55:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    “Wind River” is a film about missing and murdered indigenous women. This very real issue is handled with sensitivity and insight. It takes place on a very small, remote reserve in Wyoming where homes are few and far between. In reality this could have actually taken place on any sized reserve, anywhere in North America. The wintery, mountainous scenery and cinematography are spectacular at times but life and the conditions in these communities can still be harsh where young people have few opportunities. What is sad is that there aren’t accurate statistics on the actual number of first nation women who have gone missing or who have been murdered. Even more troubling is that many of these cases have never been fully investigated or solved. As this film does touches upon, a lot of reserves do have their own police force, but they don’t have the manpower or the training to investigate these types of crimes. At the same time, outsiders are not always welcomed because of distrust and past injustices suffered. In some instances the perpetrator is known but the law enforcers cannot do anything about it. The director/writer and producers deserve kudos for making such a film. Unfortunately what I found really annoying, distracting and almost funny was that every single indigenous actor (plus a few non indigenous actors playing the role of a native) was from a different band! It is like making a film about the Japanese, where every actor is from a different Asian country. Despite the flaws, this is an important film to see, just to get a better understanding of why something must be done!

  • 10

    Wind River

    Tuesday, August 29, 2017 1:04:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very engrossing, acting superb, cinematography was so beautiful we felt chilly just watching it. Tired of "superhero" and/or "over the top special effect" movies, so this one stood out. Would see again.

  • 1

    Wind River

    Monday, August 28, 2017 1:45:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Theatre was empty, the sound was very low and sometimes inaudible, and the acting and screenplay plodding. Yeah, life sucks sometimes, but it sucks more when you're constantly reminded. This movie is depressing and I wonder why I sat through it.

  • 4

    Wind River

    Monday, August 28, 2017 3:48:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Depressing. Men grieving over lost children looking for a place to put their grief. Sound was barely audible, low tones, and dreary. It's not much of a mystery, and not much of a drama. It's a video rental at best.

  • 10

    Wind River

    Sunday, August 27, 2017 9:27:38 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    EXCELLENT movie! Great acting, great story. Will definitely go see this one again.

  • 10

    Wind River

    Sunday, August 27, 2017 8:47:57 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I will see this movie again tonight in the theater for the fourth time in 10 days. It is the best movie I have ever seen. I have never seen a movie in a theater four times in my life. It is happy, it is sad, it is peaceful and it is violent, it is about good and bad and it shows we can all be brothers in sadness bonded against evil. A MUST SEE.