Greater Toronto Movies

A Star is Born

A Star is Born

A Star is Born

Score: 7.19 / 10

Release Date: October 05, 2018
Director: Bradley Cooper
Producer: Bill Gerber, Bradley Cooper, Jon Peters, Lynette Howell Taylor, Todd Phillips
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Bradley Cooper, Lady Gaga, Sam Elliott, Dave Chappelle, Bonnie Somerville
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 135 minutes

Write a Review


A Star is Born movie reviews

  • 5

    A Star is Born

    Thursday, October 18, 2018 6:24:09 PM | (age group: 2-17) | M

    Big disappointment .. Should never go to "over-hyped" movies .. Bad script .. bad direction .. Gaga's musical talent could not save this turkey.

  • 2

    A Star is Born

    Thursday, October 18, 2018 4:39:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I thought this was animated...?

  • 1

    A Star is Born

    Thursday, October 18, 2018 11:36:37 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Zero surprises and zero chemistry between the principals. That said, Sam Elliot was excellent and is the reason to see this movie.

  • 10

    A Star is Born

    Thursday, October 18, 2018 6:21:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I went to see this movie knowing the story, the performers and I was floored by the chemistry between Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga and that it all felt so real. The way it was filmed outstanding. The heartbreak felt so real...you had to be touched. A multi oscar winning movie for sure.

  • 9

    A Star is Born

    Wednesday, October 17, 2018 1:34:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I enjoyed this movie I have watched it twice

  • 7

    A Star is Born

    Wednesday, October 17, 2018 12:09:19 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great remake! Bradley Cooper did a remarkable job, great acting, singing, and loved how he told the story without exposing anything unpleasant. Lady Gaga's acting was pretty good and in reference to a few of the other ratings with her being a know singer, so was Barbara Streisand in the 70's movie original. Guitar music Cooper had dubbed in was fantastic.

  • 10

    A Star is Born

    Tuesday, October 16, 2018 6:00:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    They are both so talented!! Well done and the music was great

  • 3

    A Star is Born

    Tuesday, October 16, 2018 3:31:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I agree that Lady Gaga shouldn't have played this part -- she's simply not credible and sinks the movie big-time.

  • A Star is Born

    Tuesday, October 16, 2018 12:03:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Honest Review Pt.2. Sorry, I forgot to include this... I don't think a famous singer (in this case, lady gaga) should have played this part... There should be some surprises, right? I mean, we didn't know that Bradley Cooper can sing, right? If, in deed, that was him singing... I mean, to have that surprise.... "Wow!... Who is this? I didn't know she can sing" factor... it either should have been an unknown, or they shouldn't have said that Lady Gaga is the heroine in this movie, I mean she wears enough make-up and costumes on stage to be very innocuous as a real-life person... they should've surprised us in the end... stating the fact she is Lady Gaga in the end credits or something.

  • 3

    A Star is Born

    Tuesday, October 16, 2018 11:54:24 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Honest Review. Its a good movie with solid performances (although, Lady Gaga - there is room for improvement, that yelling in the washroom scene was NOT convincing at ALL). My biggest gripe with this movie is that its long! It lingered too much in places that it didn't have to... unnecessarily 2 hours long, can be brought down to 1hr 20 min. or 1hr 35 min. The other part that was quite confusing was the music genre... great songs... but I wasn't sure if it was country, rock or alternative... Bradley Cooper's attire did not help in defining the music genre.