Greater Toronto Movies

Call Me by Your Name

Call Me by Your Name

Call Me by Your Name

Score: 6.48 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Luca Guadagnino
Producer: Emilie Georges, Howard Rosenman, James Ivory, Luca Guadagnino, Marco Morabito, Peter Spears, Rodrigo Teixeira
Studio: Mongrel Media
Starring: Armie Hammer, Timothée Chalamet, Michael Stuhlbarg, Amira Casar, Esther Garrel, Victoire du Bois
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 132 minutes

Write a Review


Call Me by Your Name movie reviews

  • 1

    Call Me by Your Name

    Saturday, January 27, 2018 12:30:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you miss a world with morals, character, and integrity, don't see this movie. Messed up people leading messed up lives and thinking more confusion is the answers to their problems. Celebrating a romance between a boy and a man is quite frankly beyond the pale. But I'm sure many will rationalize this away.

  • 9

    Call Me by Your Name

    Saturday, January 27, 2018 9:31:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Call Me By Your Name is an intelligent, brilliantly acted and beautiful cinematic experience. It is a bittersweet love story that challenges the audience's capacity for understanding and empathy. Timothee Chalamet and Armie Hammer are charismatic. It is the best picture of the year.

  • 9

    Call Me by Your Name

    Friday, January 26, 2018 11:08:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fantastic cinematography and acting. Wonderfully developed storyline. The age difference between the lovers is not nearly as great as what is routinely given a pass by the public for non-LGBTQ movies and stories but might make some squeamish.

  • 1

    Call Me by Your Name

    Tuesday, January 23, 2018 6:57:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Resented the explicit tie to Judaism Indictment of permissive laissez faire parenting failing to protect their son from sexual predator—- because Daddy had unresolved issues. Where did all the mores go.

  • 10

    Call Me by Your Name

    Saturday, January 20, 2018 1:19:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    10000000000000 stars queenie.

  • 9

    Call Me by Your Name

    Friday, January 19, 2018 8:16:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    For those who remember Merchant Ivory, this film will make you swoon. I wanted the film to never end. The best movie of the year, by far. Timothee Chalamet is brilliant -- a star is born! Big-screen worthy if landscapes rather than explosions are your idea of awesome.

  • 10

    Call Me by Your Name

    Thursday, January 18, 2018 8:39:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Hard to believe that anyone would not appreciate or not like this film unless they have no soul. This is not just movie to sit and watch, it is a life experience that encompasses first time love, pain, happiness and yes even boredom that life sometimes throws at you. Long in parts but I soaked it all in and it was intentional to be slow in parts, isn't living that way sometimes? . Superb acting and a beautiful film.

  • 2

    Call Me by Your Name

    Friday, January 12, 2018 10:31:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    wasn't too enthralled by the plot. loved the acting, but the pacing left something to be desired. also wasn't fond of the framing of a romance between a high schooler and a grown man as something to be celebrated. honestly, I was expecting something akin to Lolita but instead I got what the narrator of Lolita envisioned the story to be. :/

  • 9

    Call Me by Your Name

    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 9:23:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautifully shot at a North Italian location. Incredible acting by Timothee Chalamet. Slowly masterfully and believably building up the relationship into something few will experience.

  • 9

    Call Me by Your Name

    Tuesday, January 9, 2018 8:43:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Both male leads did amazing jobs in the movie. It was such a tear jerker especially at end of movie where most people in the audience stayed until the credits rolled out. Very touching and moving.