Greater Toronto Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.18 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 7:05:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    most of the movie is waiting for something to happen.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 5:41:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Low budget groaner. I felt cheated of my money.

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 5:36:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I would have to rate it just an OK war movie. It was hard to tell who the enemy was during the aerial fighting at times. Special effects were so so. None of the actors appealed to me at all. Sound effects were way too loud and lacking.

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 4:40:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    We ( husband and I) wanted to watch a good war movie. It was our 45th wedding anniversary. So we chose Dunkirk. It had no plot, the sound was so loud it rattled our seats and our teeth. When they talked you could not hear or understand what they were saying. You could not tell, why was the enemy and who was the good guys. Please play this in the class room and the kids will stay awake and maybe learn some history from it. As for the public, not so much!

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 1:18:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Harry styles was a great actor

  • 5

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 1:13:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    After seeing Private Ryan there is No way this movie deserve 5 stars. It was an ok movie

  • 5

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 11:15:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie has very good special effects. It is also quite soulless with no real characters. WW2 is a very long time ago now. The story of Dunkirk is fading away with the generations. As a baby boomer I grew up with the story of Dunkirk. I am familiar with its outlines. I wonder how people of more recent generations will perceive this portrayal of it.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 2:18:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Superb storytelling that uses time as a way to see the story from perspectives. Cinematography is stunning. Acting is quietly effective and at times Oscar caliber. Even the telling eyes of Tom Hardy are worth the price of admission. Nolan's best screenplay by far.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Friday, July 21, 2017 10:13:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Christopher Nolan has done an impressive job with this succinct movie depiction of what happened at Dunkirk. Nolan waited 10 years to make this movie. It shows how humanity is what wins wars, how the good in us all is what grabs your heart strings even when stuck in an impossible predicament where only a miracle can get you out. The stellar cast are impressive- amongst them: James D'Arcy, Tom Hardy, Kenneth Brannagh, Cillian Murphy, et al. The young heroes played by Fionn Whitehead, Aneurin Barnard, Adan Long and Jack Lowden as a pilot , Harry Stiles in his acting debut, and Barry Keoghan and all cast members involved play their roles well. In this conflict where the British, Canadian and Belgium troops were trapped on the beaches by the German forces, Nolan says what needs to be said in 106 minutes. The music resonates very strongly and impacts the action , pulls your heart strings and drives the message of what Nolan is trying to state as well as the imagery. No gore is needed. Only a homage to those who were involved. In the air, in the water and on the land. They remind me of my grandfather who served in the Second World War. The bravery of those who enlisted as well as those citizens who risked their lives to save them is what is at the core. What war is, how it affects us, and the inextinguishable human Spirit. Bravo Christopher Nolan.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Friday, July 21, 2017 8:56:44 PM | (age group: 50 or over.) | M

    Very inaccurate. There was alot more effort on both sides. Story never got going