Greater Toronto Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.48 / 10

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Rating: 14A
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 8

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 9:11:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A magical love story that feels fresh even though Del Toro might have ripped it out of someone else's play. (but who knows really?) Wonderful movie that wasn't afraid to take its time and let you get to know its characters. Could do without so much sex stuff but it didn't hurt the movie too much. Overall, great movie with a fun premise.

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 8:48:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Sorry, if this is the years best, we are in trouble. BORING.... masturbation scenes?... animal house sex scenes?..... dark?.... all of these actors are better than this. Redeeming was the artistic at times Surprised that Jenkins and Spencer were a part of this..... they are much too good...............

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 8:41:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Only redeeming quality was the artistic production value.... unrealistic, kinda reminded me of Willy Wonka or something... I only watched all the way through because I had nothing else to do..... I am glad Octavia got a nod, but disappointed and surprised she chose this. ... she is such a good actress. too many unrelated situations.... the sex scene with the mean guy and his wife... come on..... really like a bad local theater mixed 2 or 3 different plays and this was dress rehearsal....

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 8:36:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Too weird....once again Oscar winning does not make it a good movie let alone great..... just dumb, too many random stories.... the older gay guy, what did that have to do with anything.... could have done without the masturbation. The black lady, sorry not good with names, is so much better than this movie. . . she usually picks great roles.... I was surprised at her being in this silliness.

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 8:32:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I wanted to leave after about 30 minutes, but it did get better. Yes the production value is great, but that's about it. I don't get off on watching a woman masturbate and fall in love with a frog.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 2:02:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the best pictures in a long time. A bit of Beauty and the Beast, Science fiction per Avatar. Can't wait to see it again!!

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 10:55:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved how sweet the story was and how beautifully filmed. I loved the quality of the characters and depth of their relationships. And of course the nature of the Sea creature. The sets were awesome and the 50's throwback attitudes and fashions.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 9:52:57 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved it beginning to end!

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, March 10, 2018 1:28:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is a blend of science fiction, romance, dark comedy and humor, military research and development, and a little espionage. All set in an earlier period in American history and culture, in the height of the Cold War era, in 1962 Baltimore, MD. The entire cast of actors and actresses performed exceptionally well. The scenes backgrounds were in the period. The things on the characters' minds were relevant to the times. Costumes, cars, apartments and theaters of the time, these nuances were depicted in the movie. In case you haven't heard this movie just won the Best (movie) Picture Oscar. Great entertainment.

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, March 9, 2018 5:41:55 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Rare for me to walk out of a movie but this plot was absolute nonsense and a nightmare to watch. The makeup was well done.