Greater Toronto Movies

The Snowman

The Snowman

The Snowman

Score: 4.11 / 10

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Director: Tomas Alfredson
Producer: Eric Fellner, Piodor Gustafsson, Robyn Slovo, Tim Bevan
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Michael Fassbender, Rebecca Ferguson, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Chloe Sevigny, Val Kilmer, J.K. Simmons
Rating: 14A
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 119 minutes

Write a Review


The Snowman movie reviews

  • 1

    The Snowman

    Sunday, October 22, 2017 8:28:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Jo Nesbo books are thinkers...Jo Nesbo movies are stinkers

  • 8

    The Snowman

    Sunday, October 22, 2017 5:35:24 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Don't understand why people are saying it's a bad movie. My friend and I both thought is was good. There is lots of suspense and leaves you guessing until the end. Definitely worth seeing.

  • 1

    The Snowman

    Sunday, October 22, 2017 1:24:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wait for it to be on Netflix so you can fall asleep on the couch instead of the theater.

  • 6

    The Snowman

    Saturday, October 21, 2017 5:45:58 PM | (age group: 2-17) | F

    Great acting- nice photography. Interesting story. The book is better than the movie but still worth seeing.

  • 1

    The Snowman

    Saturday, October 21, 2017 11:12:43 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Reference review Oct. 19th,2017 (below). The book is just like the movie! Movie goers don't waste you time or money. It really warrants a zero!!

  • 4

    The Snowman

    Saturday, October 21, 2017 9:11:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Slow pace takes place in England. Seen better Thrillers. Skip this movie when i went to see it 20 people where in the cinema on a Friday evening.

  • 2

    The Snowman

    Saturday, October 21, 2017 2:24:24 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    What the hell did I just try to watch? Confusing and extremely boring. I had to use the bathroom with maybe 25 minutes of film to go. After using the bathroom I left the theatre. I have no idea who the murderer is, nor do I care. Wait for it to appear on Netflix and watch it when there’s nothing else to watch.

  • The Snowman

    Thursday, October 19, 2017 10:49:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    “The Snowman” is a murder mystery, based on the novel by Norwegian author Jo Nesbø. Something was definitely lost in translation, not between Norwegian and English but between the original novel, the script, the filming and the cutting room floor. The story was so convoluted it was mindboggling. One had the feeling that many of the subplots were partially dropped along the way leading to pointless story lines, with too many characters. Perhaps readers of the novel would have more of an appreciation. I had no idea what was going on. I had trouble differentiating between the similar characters and their relationships to one another, up until the end of the film. Spoiler: This film was not thought provoking, deep or interesting. The cinematography of the snowy stark landscapes of Norway was a plus. I can’t comment on the acting since the script was so bad, most of the actors didn’t had a chance to shine.

  • 2

    The Snowman

    Sunday, October 15, 2017 5:45:08 AM | (age group: 35–49) | F

    Given the intensity of the book going to see The Snowman in the cinema was much anticipated. Tomas Alfredson should be hanging his head in shame as he created a movie so far adapted from the storyline it was emotionless, lack lustre and disappointing. There was no connection between the main characters and he created much confusion when adapting inaccurate events throughout the film. I remember saying to my partner after we both read The Snowman, "wouldn't this book make an excellent film". We're still waiting!