Greater Toronto Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.18 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 7

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 20, 2017 2:25:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Christopher Nolan was amazing in this movie. A very gripping and emotional movie that made you feel like you were right in the middle of the action. If you are a war movie fan this is a must a see.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 20, 2017 2:06:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Christopher Nolan does it again. Great war movie with fantastic cinematography, well worth seeing in IMAX. The movie keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time, and the constant heavy drone in the subwoofers adds to the stress during the film. I really appreciated that it wasn't a typical American war movie in the sense that there is no love story. It's pure warfare, it pulls you in and makes you worried for the fate of the characters. In my opinion, the only small downside was that the deaths weren't gory enough - not that I was expecting gore from Nolan. It just would have been more realistic to see a little blood when soldiers get bombed on the beach and die. All in all, great movie.

  • 5

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 20, 2017 2:01:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Visually this movie had it all from the streets of Dunkirk, to the beaches, to the small boats rescuing the soldiers and into the air with a couple of spitfire pilots. Action at every turn with body beating sound effects. Lacking though was character development to capture the audience interest in the central figures. I was confused early in the film until I realised the director was time jumping backwards and forward to give the audience the knowledge of all the different activities happening within a short period of time. A good movie but not destined to be defined as a great movie. It does give people an insight into a critical moment in WWII.

  • 7

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 20, 2017 11:31:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Dunkirk is a real, gripping and emotionally-driven war film that places you right in the middle of the conflict making you feel the fear of uncertainty in this grim situation. With great performances and a mesmerizing score, Dunkirk is sure to be a contender come award season.

  • 8

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 20, 2017 11:18:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Christopher Nolan magic yet again. This movie was loud, moving, emotional, I think it gave the viewer a taste of the uncertainty of war. A couple complaints though, 1. The accents and background noise made it sometimes hard to hear he dialogue. 2. All of the main characters looked similar, had similar hair cuts, so it was hard to discern who was who. 3. Most of the actors who were waiting in the beach were wearing their helmet, except the characters that were being focused on, and I found that distracting. Overall you knew going in exactly what you were going to get a sad, loud, war pic and that's exactly what you get.

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 20, 2017 10:46:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Dunkirk was a good movie, but it could have been a great movie. While the film contains many of the trademarks aspects of Christopher Nolan films, they feel somewhat muted in this case. The visuals are superb, but the constant and unfortunately noticeable switching of aspect ratios really detracts from them. The writing is superb, but with the movies large cast and short run time, the characters feel underdeveloped. The ending, while realistic in nature, doesnít feel quite as cinematic as one might hope. Overall, itís worth a watch, but it certainly doesnít rank among Nolanís best.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 20, 2017 10:31:19 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Christopher Nolan did a tremendous job once again, it was a spectacular movie!

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 20, 2017 10:19:38 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Dunkirk was visually spectacular boasting breathtaking cinematography featuring sprawling horizons that really stand out in the aerial dogfight sequences. Seeing the film in IMAX really made these scenes breathtaking. The sound effects help create an ambiance of panic stricken fear accompanied by the fairly realistic battle scenes which aren't really over the top as I don't believe any CGI was utilized. The story and character development lack though and the movie feels a bit empty on this front. I can understand the storyline being a bit thin as it can easily be summed up by reading the tagline to the film, but the movie doesn't take enough time to develop the main characters enough for the audience to really connect with and care for them which I found unfortunate. Overall, this film is still worth the watch and has many strong attributes.

  • Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 20, 2017 10:14:43 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautiful scenery and excellent sound track. I really felt the pain, suffering and agony of the soldiers who did their duty and service at Dunkirk. The movie really captured all the elements of this war and then some. Highly recommend Alexander Nolan's epic movie. Oscar-worthy for sure. Bravo! Would go back and see it a 2nd time.

  • 8

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 20, 2017 9:43:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I think this will be an Oscar movie. Its beautifully shot and has a lot of heart. Its filmed in an "artsy" way that the Academy likes but not in a pretentious way that a laymen viewer can still appreciate. Hardly any speaking parts to this movie, which was pretty impressive. It was all about the actors emoting the hardships of war. Now because its an "Oscar" film...it will probably get a lot of hype that it's some fantastic film...so I want to make clear that I don't feel its a movie for the masses. You have to like this type of genre of film. If you like war movies and movies about grit survival then consider seeing it. Keep in mind, there's no grand cinematic visual effects and crazy action sequences. Its a story told in a unique way and a story that leaves you feeling hopeful about humanity. I myself recommend it. Go see it.