Greater Toronto Movies

The Big Sick

The Big Sick

The Big Sick

Score: 6.87 / 10

Release Date: July 14, 2017
Director: Michael Showalter
Producer: Barry Mendel, Judd Apatow
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Kumail Nanjiani, Holly Hunter, Zoe Kazan, Ray Romano, Linda Emond, Anupam Kher, Zenobia Shroff, Adeel Akhtar
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 120 minutes

Write a Review


The Big Sick movie reviews

  • 6

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 9:48:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Big Sick is an unique story that's for sure. It's amazing how little people may know about the traditions/culture of East Indian people.

  • 7

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 9:46:14 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I went to this movie expecting it to be my typical cheesy rom-com. It was a lot more than I expected and I found myself relating to the struggles Kumail felt as an immigrant living in a western country. I also understood Emily's standpoint and am happy with the way the movie turned out.

  • 7

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 9:45:55 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Super funny, very refreshing, great acting

  • 9

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 9:36:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved the movie.

  • 9

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 9:26:41 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved every minute of this movie. It was funny, heartwarming and very current. The actors were all excellent. One of the best movie experiences I've had in recent memory.

  • 5

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, July 6, 2017 9:05:52 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Light comedy - moves slowly

  • 7

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, June 29, 2017 2:09:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very funny scenes

  • 8

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, June 29, 2017 12:11:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Enjoyed it a lot more than I was expecting to! Not a traditional romantic comedy, it showed a lot more of the family dynamics involved in a new relationship, not to mention getting into interesting detail about cultural clashes that can occur in such settings. Highly recommend.

  • 7

    The Big Sick

    Thursday, June 29, 2017 12:03:24 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A perfect date movie. Very funny, and very heart-warming.

  • 8

    The Big Sick

    Tuesday, June 27, 2017 11:14:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie was funnier than I expected. Don't want to give the plot away to those who haven't watched the movie yet. But for those who like watching comedies, this movie will not disappoint, it is a very enjoyable movie, a pleasant way to spend a few hours to get some good laughs. I was lucky to attend an advance screening with a surprising appearance of Kumail and Emily for Q&A after the screening. That was definitely an unexpected sweet topping on the cake!