Greater Toronto Movies

The Man Who Invented Christmas

The Man Who Invented Christmas

The Man Who Invented Christmas

Score: 6.48 / 10

Director: Bharat Nalluri
Producer: Niv Fichman, Susan Mullen
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Dan Stevens, Christopher Plummer, Jonathan Pryce, Miriam Margolyes, Simon Callow, Justin Edwards
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 104 minutes

Write a Review


The Man Who Invented Christmas movie reviews

  • 6

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Tuesday, December 12, 2017 11:02:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Disappointed. Compared to the original earlier versions of "Scrooge" this movie seems to lose the real experience between poverty and greed (could have been more relevant for today), and feels rushed, and discombobulated.

  • 10

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Saturday, December 9, 2017 7:53:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was fabulous !!! The acting was superb. Dan Stevens did a terrific job portraying Charles Dickens. Wonderful performance by Christopher Plummer and the other actors as well. I would definitely see this movie again . I love everything & anything associated with A CHRISTMAS CAROL . I didnít even know about this movie till I was looking for showtimes for another movie. Iím so happy that I found out about THE MAN WHO INVENTED CHRISTMAS!!!

  • 10

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Saturday, December 9, 2017 7:11:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    First movie I've seen for a long time I would be willing to watch again. Dan Stevens is remarkable in his portrayal of Charles Dickens, The sets are interesting in their own right. A GREAT film!!

  • 9

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Friday, December 8, 2017 8:29:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very accurate to what we know about Dickens with speculation kept to the probable.

  • 7

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Friday, December 8, 2017 6:06:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent family movie at the right time heading into the holidays. Having just seen the play as well, and very well versed with the story, this movie really came to life for me. Some of the plot progression is a bit lacking in connectivity, but otherwise fantastic job. Not sure what all the low star ratings are about. If you read the synopsis it tells you right away it's about Charles Dickens and his writing of "A Christmas Carol". Did people walk into this thinking it was Star Wars or Avengers or something? hot babes what the hell? I think it goes without saying, but if you are not familiar with "A Christmas Carol", do so first before seeing or just skip it.

  • 6

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Tuesday, December 5, 2017 6:57:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wonderful sets, very unique movie; I enjoyed it, but unless you are a fan of A Christmas Carol and Charles Dickens you probably wonít see the point.

  • 2

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Sunday, December 3, 2017 7:41:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Worst movies this year

  • 9

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Saturday, December 2, 2017 5:14:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best movie this year loved it will see again

  • 5

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Thursday, November 30, 2017 6:24:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The hardest movies to review are the ones that are okay, sorta good, but fail to blow your socks off. Christopher Plummer is brilliant in portraying a Scrooge who has all the nasty Scrooginess, but at the same time is charismatic. The rest is just okay. 71/100..guru bob

  • 2

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Wednesday, November 29, 2017 11:51:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Jesus invented Xmas