Greater Toronto Movies

I, Tonya

I, Tonya

I, Tonya

Score: 7.8 / 10

Director: Craig Gillespie
Producer: Bryan Unkeless, Margot Robbie, Steven Rogers, Tom Ackerley
Studio: VVS Films
Starring: Margot Robbie, Sebastian Stan, Julianne Nicholson, Bobby Cannavale, Allison Janney, Mckenna Grace
Rating: 14A
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 119 minutes

Write a Review


I, Tonya movie reviews

  • 10

    I, Tonya

    Saturday, January 13, 2018 8:32:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie was entertaining and mostly dark comedy. The acting was excellent.

  • 9

    I, Tonya

    Thursday, January 11, 2018 3:32:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    hooooooooooooootie with a booooody

  • 10

    I, Tonya

    Tuesday, January 9, 2018 10:48:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The sexiest movie of the year!

  • 3

    I, Tonya

    Tuesday, January 9, 2018 9:11:57 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A crazy true story that didn't need re-telling. The skating was fine, Robbie is convincing in the role. It's a decent movie with Allison Janney deserving the Golden Globe, maybe, and it had a few laughs . But that's about it. I had no sympathy for Harding back when this happened and this movie does not inspire me to change my opinion. These were free tickets so I'm being generous in my rating. Wait for it to come on TV

  • 2

    I, Tonya

    Monday, January 8, 2018 1:05:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Oh waaaa... a millennial before there was a millennial. Oh poor me, oh oh, it's not my fault, oh oh everyone is out to get me... waaaa. What a wasted effort !! If nothing else it's sends a message to take control of your own life or you will end up a victim like oh poor Tanya. AQnd of course we'll just gloss over the post skating life where she is "forced" onto a life of ruined celebrity. This is everything the woman's rights fight against. So is the sequel the story told from Kerrigan's side of it. Where an immature dysfunctional family lashes out at her because of her wholesome goodness and separation of class ??

  • 9

    I, Tonya

    Friday, January 5, 2018 6:21:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Outstanding movie ! Entertaining from beginning to end . It has the perfect blend of drama, documentary and quite a few chuckles . For us old enough to have witnessed this when it happened ,good luck convincing the youngsters that ...yes it really did happen haha . It really is that crazy of a true story .

  • 10

    I, Tonya

    Wednesday, January 3, 2018 10:50:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Haaaaaaaawty with a body

  • 10

    I, Tonya

    Saturday, December 23, 2017 4:16:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Outstanding performances and surprisingly hilarious.

  • 8

    I, Tonya

    Friday, December 22, 2017 11:17:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The film explores Tonya's disadvantaged and tough upbringing at the hands of an abusive mother, and what follows with her abusive marriage, while also focusing on her career that was doomed from the start. Even though she was the best skater in the world, she was never allowed to be the best. The judges didn't think she looked right, dressed right, and didn't represent the face of an ideal America. The film leaves room for opinion, but aims to give a more compassionate view of Tonya. Margot Robbie deserves an Oscar nomination. She's incredible and fully embodies the character, learning how to figure skate for the role to the point where she was able to recreate entire sequences of Harding's routines. This is peak dark comedy. Impeccable and fun.

  • 7

    I, Tonya

    Tuesday, December 19, 2017 10:30:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    “I, Tonya” is a difficult film to define, but is very creative in it’s approach to the telling of Tonya Harding’s story. This docudrama, is filled with funny moments of delusion and disillusionment. We can believe the words spoken by the actors, really did come from the mouths of the real life cast of characters. We can even laugh at the incredulous justifications and interpretations of events. Meanwhile, for Harding, her boyfriend, bodyguard and mother, they expect our understanding and empathy, because “nothing was their fault”. Tonya came from a broken home with a chain-smoking, alcoholic and abusive mother who encouraged her to remain in an abusive relationship. It is amazing how far Tonya went considering the lack of support, education and poor role models in her life. She was a fighter, which contributed to her fearlessness on the ice. At the end, you feel sorry for her. Tonya was harshly judged and convicted of a crime she did not commit. Although Harding was not involved in the plot to injury Nancy Kerrigan, she paid the price for having dysfunctional people in her life. The US Figure Skating Federation ultimately won, because they never wanted Tonya to represent the USA and felt she was a stain to the image they wanted to portray.