Greater Toronto Movies

Victoria & Abdul

Victoria & Abdul

Victoria & Abdul

Score: 6.95 / 10

Release Date: September 29, 2017
Director: Stephen Frears
Producer: Eric Fellner, Tim Bevan
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Michael Gambon, Judi Dench, Olivia Williams, Eddie Izzard, Simon Callow, Ali Fazal
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 111 minutes

Write a Review


Victoria & Abdul movie reviews

  • 2

    Victoria & Abdul

    Saturday, October 7, 2017 11:47:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It's such a shame that a movie consists of prejudice on many levels. Do we really need a reminder of the horrible things we are experiencing on a daily basis. What happened to a happy comedy (that doesn't gross you out) or a musical, or a good mystery-thriller. Everything is either sci-if, violence or racist movies. What happened to movies that make us feel good. I'm getting tired of paying money to get depressed. The actors were great in this movie but on an entertainment level, the movie sucked.

  • 2

    Victoria & Abdul

    Saturday, October 7, 2017 10:29:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Judy densch was fantastic....as for the ongoing racism on both sides ... I could have done without it. I'm actually sorry I saw this movie.

  • 2

    Victoria & Abdul

    Saturday, October 7, 2017 2:45:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Horrid little Hollywood fantasy.

  • 9

    Victoria & Abdul

    Saturday, October 7, 2017 2:00:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie, interesting and warm film about a wonderful friendship. I will see it again this weekend.. Yes it’s that good!

  • 10

    Victoria & Abdul

    Saturday, October 7, 2017 1:47:12 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Victoria and Abdul is charming film based on real events- Judy Dench: A queen personified and Ali Fazal: Great acting of an innocent Indian attendant. One of best film I have seen this year.

  • 10

    Victoria & Abdul

    Friday, October 6, 2017 10:47:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very enjoyable movie . Some humor and drama

  • 7

    Victoria & Abdul

    Thursday, October 5, 2017 10:51:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    At the start of the film, “Victoria and Abdul”, there is a disclaimer: “Based on True Events, mostly”. This helped to set the mood of the film. Judi Dench, deserves an academy award for her fabulous acting, as angry, crotchety, obese, selfish, shrewd, Queen Victoria. She was leading a life of isolation, fear and distrust until Abdul Karim (Ali Fazil) enters her life. This lowly prison clerk was chosen to go to England to present the Queen with a commemorative coin (although in reality he was chosen to be an Attendant for a Year). The acting, costume design, cinematography and story line were all excellent. This is a captivating story of the bond that developed between Queen Victoria and Abdul Karim and how they learned so much from each other. There are the subplots of prejudices, racism, class divide, snobbery and elitism verses true friendship, respect and trust. Although the Queen learned that Abdul did not always tell her the truth about himself, she never doubted his dedication and desire to ensure her happiness, unlike the members of her family and household servants.

  • 8

    Victoria & Abdul

    Thursday, October 5, 2017 4:24:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I have enjoy very much the movie.Very good story ,it show you can be very lonely at the top even for a Queen. Good Actors and the roles very well played. Good film to see .:) M-s .C

  • 6

    Victoria & Abdul

    Thursday, October 5, 2017 4:00:57 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    enjoyable .. surprisingly funny

  • 9

    Victoria & Abdul

    Thursday, October 5, 2017 9:11:24 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie was very entertaining. The acting and characters were superb. My only regret is I don't know how much of it was based on history and which part was created to embellish the plot. But all in all, very enjoyable.