Toronto Movies

Ad Astra

Ad Astra

Score: 4.09 / 10

Director: James Gray
Producer: Anthony Katagas, Arnon Milchan, Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, James Gray, Jeremy Kleiner, Rodrigo Teixeira
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Starring: Brad Pitt, Tommy Lee Jones, Ruth Negga, Liv Tyler, Donald Sutherland
Rating: PG
Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
Running Time: 122 minutes

Write a Review


Ad Astra movie reviews

  • 10

    Ad Astra

    Sunday, October 13, 2019 2:55:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautiful movie with stunning visuals, wholly believable acting by Pitt. This isn't for the car chase crowd. It's a thought provoking story that happens to take place in space. I thought about it for days after.

  • 8

    Ad Astra

    Saturday, October 12, 2019 8:58:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I liked the movie, I enjoyed it. It actually had a storyline, and there was action, just not non-stop car chases and violence. I agree with the reviewer who said "this movie is for those with an IQ higher than 5 on scale of 1 to 10.. Brad Pitt is able to carry what is mostly a one man story. Dialogue is well written. Too cerebral for the Fox opinion channel crowd"; although I suspect many of the reviewers who found it "boring" like anime, car chases and nothing more thought provoking than whatever "superpower" the current Marvel comic movie character has.

  • 2

    Ad Astra

    Saturday, October 12, 2019 2:10:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    5 of us watched this movie and it was the worst ,

  • 1

    Ad Astra

    Friday, October 11, 2019 12:49:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I like Brad Pitt but this movie has no substance, boring story line.Almost walked out twice.

  • 3

    Ad Astra

    Friday, October 11, 2019 11:14:40 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I love space and science fiction but this movie disappointed. Picture philosophy PHD students writing a script that Hollywood gets and re-writes with random action scenes and space monkeys. Brad man what the heck! You’re a better actor than a movie like this.

  • 1

    Ad Astra

    Thursday, October 10, 2019 4:03:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    WHAT A SNOOZE! DON'T BOTHER.

  • 9

    Ad Astra

    Thursday, October 10, 2019 1:54:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie to sleep thru!

  • 8

    Ad Astra

    Thursday, October 10, 2019 1:01:57 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Visually stunning, well-acted father/son character study. Unexpected yet fitting ending. Will definitely see it again on my 4K UHD tv!

  • 8

    Ad Astra

    Wednesday, October 9, 2019 8:13:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I don't know what people were expecting this movie to be. I went for the beautiful sci-fi space drama that I expected it to be. I got that. Not a perfect movie, but still a damn good one with great acting and beautiful special effects. Not every movie has to be explosions and terrible plots like Fast and Furious, Transformers and Jurassic World. It's nice to get a grounded sci-fi movie from time-to-time and I wish they would make more of them.

  • 1

    Ad Astra

    Wednesday, October 9, 2019 7:52:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Boring slow moving