Toronto Movies

Ad Astra

Ad Astra

Score: 4.09 / 10

Director: James Gray
Producer: Anthony Katagas, Arnon Milchan, Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, James Gray, Jeremy Kleiner, Rodrigo Teixeira
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Starring: Brad Pitt, Tommy Lee Jones, Ruth Negga, Liv Tyler, Donald Sutherland
Rating: PG
Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
Running Time: 122 minutes

Write a Review


Ad Astra movie reviews

  • 2

    Ad Astra

    Tuesday, October 1, 2019 7:53:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great special effects...but not worth seeing frankly. Too slow, plot too thin, frankly boring. I fell asleep in it then woke up and left

  • 2

    Ad Astra

    Tuesday, October 1, 2019 7:11:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    You really need to see this movie to know how bad it is.

  • 2

    Ad Astra

    Tuesday, October 1, 2019 4:19:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    So very stupid and impossible. Poor acting by Brad who probably made $30 million for starring in a horrible movie. What a waste of good money.

  • 10

    Ad Astra

    Tuesday, October 1, 2019 2:51:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This was a FANTASTIC Sci-Fi movie, donít understand all the negative reviews, I almost did not go see this incredible flick because of them. This is definitely not the typical Hollywood movie for the brain-dead. This is a deep movie with a vulnerable Brad Pitt, who is emotionally dead, but is still a Bad-Axx! He has some serious PTSD and abandonment issues going on, some of the reasons are uncovered in the back story. The visual effects alone are worth seeing on the big screen, especially the first 5 minutes. One of common negative comments is that this movie violates the Laws of Physics, well so did 2001, Gravity, Star Wars, and just about every Sci-Fi movie ever made, and letís forget about the Star Trek universe where Scotty is still turning over in his grave! This movie rocks, and is perfect if you want some intelligent Sci-Fi, but not so good if you are looking for the typical Hollywood action film garbage thatís essentially all the same. Did not find this movie boring or slow-moving in the least, it had itís own pace, but told a good back story if you are paying attention. Will be seeing this one again on the big screen, itís that good!

  • Ad Astra

    Tuesday, October 1, 2019 10:34:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Love Sci-fi and the body of work of the principle actors, but left the theatre thinking (I was not the only one) that maybe I missed something. Upon further reflection, I have decided that the movie simply was not very good. While the desire to answer questions about the existence of other life forms in our universe is understood, plot, character development and entertainment value seemed to be considerations for the writer and director's next project.

  • 4

    Ad Astra

    Tuesday, October 1, 2019 8:22:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I love Sci -fi and think Pitt and Tommy Lee are great actors this drew me to see this.....but unfortunately I have to agree with the negative reviews, it's slow , drags while there are some potentially good spots in it the movie it fails to capitalize on them. The five stars here obviously are trolls....watch this on Netflix soon.

  • 3

    Ad Astra

    Tuesday, October 1, 2019 7:10:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    stellar special effects...but not worth seeing frankly. Too slow, plot too thin, frankly boring. Fourth grade science and not very good at that.

  • 1

    Ad Astra

    Monday, September 30, 2019 10:46:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Saw it in IMAX and it would have been the same on my phone. Uninteresting, slow, and boring. Best part was liv Tyler who was used for 45 seconds

  • 10

    Ad Astra

    Monday, September 30, 2019 7:14:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Movie allows viewer to critically think and reflect about how we are searching for life on other planets and sustainable sources while not appreciating what we have on Earth.

  • 1

    Ad Astra

    Monday, September 30, 2019 4:22:07 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    not a good movie. I agree with the bad reviews.