Toronto Movies

Ad Astra

Ad Astra

Score: 4.09 / 10

Director: James Gray
Producer: Anthony Katagas, Arnon Milchan, Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, James Gray, Jeremy Kleiner, Rodrigo Teixeira
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Starring: Brad Pitt, Tommy Lee Jones, Ruth Negga, Liv Tyler, Donald Sutherland
Rating: PG
Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
Running Time: 122 minutes

Write a Review


Ad Astra movie reviews

  • 9

    Ad Astra

    Friday, September 27, 2019 7:42:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I saw two star ratings, but something told me I would like this movie even thought I believed it might have some boring stretches. I am so glad I went to see it. I was never bored. Great movie!

  • 2

    Ad Astra

    Friday, September 27, 2019 5:10:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I was good if you are ready for a NAP.

  • 5

    Ad Astra

    Friday, September 27, 2019 2:43:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A little less of Brad Pitt's talking would have been good but I liked it. Not as much as my date but we both thought it was worth the money

  • 8

    Ad Astra

    Friday, September 27, 2019 2:41:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    An interesting and thought-provoking movie. Nice to see a film geared towards those who don't need CGI and explosions to act as plot. Those people can stick with the HOBBES AND SHAW flicks that I'll gladly pass over. If you're looking for something challenging, this is a great option. Well done

  • 4

    Ad Astra

    Friday, September 27, 2019 12:10:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Definitely a "watch at home" movie. Very slow paced and as good as Brad Pitt is, his talking pretty much puts you to sleep. Thinking of adding the dialog from this movie to my sleep machine.

  • 4

    Ad Astra

    Friday, September 27, 2019 11:53:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Kind of far fetched, boring and way to look long!

  • 9

    Ad Astra

    Friday, September 27, 2019 11:07:43 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Thoughtful. An intriguing combination of sci-fi and psychology.

  • 1

    Ad Astra

    Friday, September 27, 2019 10:59:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    it was the slowest movie i've ever seen. i walked out after 30 minutes and regretted that i didn't after 10 minutes.

  • 2

    Ad Astra

    Friday, September 27, 2019 8:35:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I agree the movie moved very slow. The story was not welled told, it never had a purpose.

  • 3

    Ad Astra

    Friday, September 27, 2019 2:03:12 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Slow and melancholy - I immediately thought of Apocalypse Now. But what was with the car chase on the moon? Just to throw some action into a non action movie? And the distress call response? What was the point? It just didn't work for me on most levels. I love great stories, not nonsense action - but this just wasn't a great story.